Historic Preservation


Learn how the Community Development Block Grant Entitlement program may assist with Historic Preservation or contact CDBG staff by visiting Current Open Applications

San Marcos is fortunate to have many neighborhoods rich in historic value and citizens committed to retaining the City's heritage. In total, there are 7 locally designated historic districts. The Downtown District was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1993. The districts contain a variety of Victorian, Classical Revival and Craftsman architecture as well as many homes constructed in the 1940s following World War II.

The historic designation does not change the zoning of the property and has no effect on permitted land uses.

Local designation of a historic district encourages the appreciation and preservation of the physical evidence of our past. All structures in a local historic district, as well as structures designated as local landmarks, are placed under the review of the Historic Preservation Commission (HPC). The Commission consists of seven citizens appointed by the City Council to serve three-year staggered terms.

Local Historic Districts

Local Historic Landmarks

Historic Resources Surveys

State Tax Credits for Historic Preservation

The State of Texas offers a Historic Preservation tax credit for the rehabilitation of certain historic properties. For more information on the Texas Historic Preservation Tax Credit Program, visit the Texas Historical Commission.

Federal Tax Credits for Historic Preservation

The federal government also provides tax incentives for the rehabilitation of certain historic properties and for historic preservation easements. For more information on federal tax incentive programs, visit the National Park Service.